College Court Report Freshman of the Year Fan Vote: Sweet 16 Results

For the third week in a row, Carson Williams used a strong push on Facebook to propel him into the next round of the Freshman of the Year fan vote.

CALGARY, Alta. — Welcome to March Madness, folks.

While the Round of 64 in the NCAA Tournament proved to be anticlimactic for the majority, the Round of 32 provided the fireworks that fans were looking for. There are a few surprises in the Sweet 16 (South CarolinaMichigan), and then there are the usual suspects (Kentucky, North Carolina, Gonzaga).

The season has ended for the majority of teams on the hardwood, but there’s plenty to be excited about around the country.

Teams, fans, and players alike are all on the campaign trail, raising support for their respective players in the 3rd Annual College Court Report Freshman of the Year Fan Vote.

What started with 64 of the top freshmen from smaller programs had been trimmed down to 16 players at the start of the week. Following a week of campaigning on Facebook and Twitter, the results are in for the past seven days,

A total of 27,050 votes were cast through Facebook, Twitter, and the online polls. There were several marquee match-ups this past week, meaning the brackets bid adieu to some big time players.

In one particular pairing, the difference was a mere 51 votes, and it all came down to social media votes.

Here are this past week’s results.

East Region

Garrett Sams (North Florida) – 81.58%
Bryce Aiken (Harvard) – 18.42%

A.J. Lawson (North Texas) – 72.30%
Miye Oni (Yale) – 27.70%

West Region

Jashaun Agosto (LIU Brooklyn) – 64.87%
Ryan Daly (Delaware) – 35.13%

Denzel Mahoney (Southeast Missouri State) – 55.56%
Christian Keeling (Charleston Southern) – 44.44%

South Region

Jalone Friday (Abilene Christian) – 50.2%
Jackson Rowe (Cal State Fullerton) – 49.8%

Tarkus Ferguson (UIC) – 55.09%
Darrell Riley (Mississippi Valley State) – 44.91%

North Region

Carson Williams (Northern Kentucky) – 59.48%
De’Monte Buckingham (Richmond) – 40.52%

Mike Smith (Columbia) – 51.96%
Landry Shamet (Wichita State) – 48.04%

 – T. Bennett