College Court Report Player of the Year Fan Vote: Sweet 16 Results

LaVell Boyd is one of three WAC players who are still alive in the Player of the Year Fan Vote.

CALGARY, Alta. — One Elite Eight came to an end on Sunday, while another gets underway on Monday morning.

On Sunday, the North Carolina Tar Heels and South Carolina Gamecocks rounded out this year’s Final Four, joining both the Gonzaga Bulldogs and Oregon Ducks in Phoenix.

With just a handful of games left in the 2016-17 season, the end is in sight.

However, the season isn’t completely over for those programs who have played their last game. The College Court Report Player of the Year Fan Vote is still in full swing, and the field has been trimmed down to its own Elite Eight.

This past week, in the Sweet 16, fans came out in full force once again to support their favourite players from across the country. Over 15,000 votes were cast in the round across all three platforms (online polls, Facebook, and Twitter).

Three of the match-ups this past week were decided by less than 100 votes, while a pair of front-runners continued to hum right along.

Below, you can see the results for all eight match-ups from the Sweet 16. The winners in each region will go head-to-head this week for a spot in the Final Four.

Three of the eight players who advanced play for schools in the Western Athletic Conference.

Alec Wintering Region

Trayvon Palmer (Chicago State) – 52.87%
T.J. Cline (Richmond) – 47.13%

Quinton Hooker (North Dakota) – 73.24%
Joe Cremo (Albany) – 26.76%

Damon Lynn Region

LaVell Boyd (UMKC) – 68.93%
Peyton Aldridge (Davidson) – 31.07%

Rashawn Thomas (Texas A&M-CC) – 76.72%
Laquincy Rideau (Gardner-Webb) – 23.28%

Dikembe Dixson Region

Mark Alstork (Wright State) – 72.22%
Jaaron Simmons (Ohio) – 27.78%

Kavin Gilder-Tilbury (Texas State) – 53.23%
Reggie Upshaw (Middle Tennessee) – 46.77%

Antonio Campbell Region

Jaylon Brown (Evansville) – 50.83%
Justin Robinson (Monmouth) – 49.17%

DeWayne Russell (Grand Canyon) – 57.76%
Jordan Howard (Central Arkansas) – 42.24%

 – T. Bennett