Field for the Fourth Annual College Court Report Mascot Mayhem Challenge Revealed

Missouri State’s Boomer was tabbed as the top mascot in the NCAA last season in the Third Annual CCR Mascot Mayhem Challenge. He will look to defend his title when the Challenge gets underway at the end of September.

CALGARY, Alta. — It’s time to crown the nation’s top mascot in advance of the 2017-18 college basketball season.

Entering its fourth season, the College Court Report Mascot Mayhem Challenge aims to create a buzz around the NCAA in advance of the upcoming college basketball season, while providing students, faculty, and fans alike with the opportunity to showcase their school spirit.

The contest begins around mid-September each year, and ends around the start of the current season.

People are able to cast votes for their favourite mascot in a bracket-style tournament to determine the top mascot in the NCAA. In each of the first three seasons of the challenge, a different mascot has won.

In the inaugural challenge, Harry the Hawk of the Maryland-Eastern Shore Hawks took home the crown. Since then, Harry the Hawk has retired and the Hawks are now represented by HH3, who will be a member of this year’s field.

Next year, Sam the Minuteman took the title back to the Massachusetts Minutemen in Amherst, MA. Then, last season, Boomer continued his strong off-season as the mascot of the Missouri State Bears, taking home the CCR Mascot Mayhem Challenge along with the Missouri Valley Mascot Madness crown.

Who will take home this year’s crown? Take a look at this year’s field and pick your favourites before it begins.

2017 Mascot Mayhem Field

(*denotes returnee from last year’s challenge)

Boomer – Missouri State Bears *

Petey Griffin – Canisius Golden Griffins *

Sam the Minuteman – Massachusetts Minutemen * (2015 Winner)

Butler Blue III – Butler Bulldogs *

Sparty – Michigan State Spartans *

Sebastian the Ibis – Miami (FL) Hurricanes *

Kaboom! – Bradley Braves *

Peter the Anteater – UC Irvine Anteaters *

Ralphie – Colorado Buffaloes *

John B. Stetson – Stetson Hatters *

Howl – Arkansas State Red Wolves *

Too-Fly – Delaware State Hornets *

Elwood Lancer – Longwood Lancers *

Testudo – Maryland Terrapins *

HH3 – Maryland-Eastern Shore Hawks *

Izzy the Islander – Texas A&M-CC Islanders *

Knightro – UCF Knights *

Willie the Wave – Pepperdine Waves *

Monte – Montana Grizzlies *

Victor E. Bull – Buffalo Bulls *

Chauncey Chanticleer – Coastal Carolina Chanticleers *

Bernie – Siena Saints *

Lucas the Stag – Fairfield Stags *

Ozzie the Osprey – North Florida Ospreys *

WuShock – Wichita State Shockers *

Sammy C. Hawk – UNC Wilmington Seahawks *

Victor E. Viking – Northern Kentucky Norse *

Damien – Albany Great Danes *

Puddles – Oregon Ducks *

Don – Fort Wayne Mastodons *

Jack – South Dakota State Jackrabbits *

Scrappy – Chattanooga Mocs *

Magnus – Cleveland State Vikings

Mario the Magnificent – Drexel Dragons

Bill – Navy Midshipmen

YoUDee – Delaware Fightin’ Blue Hens

Sparky – UIC Flames

Pete – Youngstown State Penguins

Big Red – Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

Norm – Charlotte 49ers

Cayenne – Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns

Blaze – UAB Blazers

Hornet – Alabama State Hornets

Emmitt S. Burg – Mount St. Mary’s Mountaineers

Gaylord – Campbell Fighting Camels

Rameses – North Carolina Tar Heels *

Durango – Omaha Mavericks *

Rodney – VCU Rams

Monte – Niagara Purple Eagles

Super Frog – TCU Horned Frogs *

The Bird – Air Force Falcons *

Rudy Flyer – Dayton Flyers *

Goldy – Minnesota Golden Gophers

Handsome Dan – Yale Bulldogs

Ole! – UC Santa Barbara Gauchos *

Delta Devil – Mississippi Valley State Delta Devils

The Billiken – Saint Louis Billikens *

The Governor – Austin Peay Governors

Rhett – Boston Univ. Terriers

Wally Pilot – Portland Pilots

Scrappy the Owl – Kennesaw State Owls

Bucky Badger – Wisconsin Badgers *

Aubie – Auburn Tigers *

Big Al – Alabama Crimson Tide *

Ace – Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks *

Benny – Oregon State Beavers

Kasey – UMKC ‘Roos

Shadow – Monmouth Hawks

The format and bracket for the event will be released on September 11th and 18th, and the contest itself will begin on September 25th and run through the end of October.

– T. Bennett