CIT Classic Series, CBS Sports Extension Headline 10th Anniversary of the Postseason Tournament

Wyche, Trevis (2)
Trevis Wyche and the Saint Peter’s Peacocks claimed the 2017 CIT title with a 62-61 win over the Texas A&M-CC Islanders. (Source: Sportnado)

BOSTON, Mass. — The Tournament (CIT) is entering its 10th season of operation in 2017-18, and it will look to continue the success it has had over the years.

Back in 2009, College Insider founders Angela Lento and Joe Dwyer took the step of creating a post-season tournament to give more programs from across the country an opportunity to take part in a post-season tournament. It started as a 16-team field, with the Old Dominion Monarchs capturing the inaugural title.

Since then, the field has been expanded to 24-teams, and now sits at a 32-team event that features teams from outside of the high-major conferences. The event has seen its attendance numbers double in each season, per College Insider’s history page, and it will look to continue that this season as the event caps off a successful first decade.

On Wednesday, College Insider announced their 2017-18 selection committee, an extended agreement with CBS Sports, and their CIT Classics Series schedule for the 10th running of the event.

For the sixth consecutive year, CBS Sports Network is the home of the CIT. This season, CBS Sports Network will televise seven tournament games, including the semifinals and championship game. Also, four (4) first round CIT games on Monday, March 12th will be part of 12 consecutive hours of college basketball coverage on the network, including extensive studio coverage breaking down the 2018 NCAA Tournament.

All remaining CIT games will be streamed live through CBS Sports Digital’s subscription OTT service, SportsLive, and

[Read the full press release from Wednesday’s announcement]

Monday, March 12th, which is also the day after Selection Sunday, is when the fun begins at the 2018 CIT. Four first round games will take place, with the first tipping off at 12:00pm EST and the last getting underway at 10:00pm EST. They will be the only four games played on that day across the nation, which means all eyes will be on the event.

The four games are a part of the CIT Classic Series, which pays homage to four former coaching legends, in Hugh Durham, Lou Henson, Jim Phelan and Riley Wallace. The winner of each game moves to the second round of the event, while also receiving a trophy to commemorate the win.

Lastly, the 14-person selection committee is made up of current Division I Athletic Directors and Conference Commissioners. This year’s committee includes Kevin Blue (UC Davis), Jim Donovan (Cal State Fullerton), Ted Gumbart (Atlantic Sun Conference), Tim Hall (UMBC), Kelley Hartley Hutton (Fort Wayne), Ryan Ivey (Austin Peay), Lenny Kaplan (NJIT), Scott Lazenby (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi), Eugene Marshall, Jr. (Hampton), Jeremy McClain (Troy), Ed McLaughlin (VCU), Bob Moosbrugger (Bowling Green), Peter Pilling (Columbia), Frank Sullivan (America East Conference).

Jim Donovan is this year’s chairman of the Selection Committee.

Over the years, the Tournament has allowed more teams to showcase their talents after getting passed over by the NCAA and the NIT. Twenty-five teams have made their post-season debuts over the last nine years in the CIT, more than the other events combined. To make things better, 33 teams have picked up their program’s first-ever post-season win in the CIT, which is also a record.

This season promises to be another exciting field, as there are a lot of teams who are worthy of spots in a post-season event, but there are limited spots in the NCAA Tournament and the NIT. With the influx of eligible teams, the 2018 CIT field could shape up to be one of the strongest in the history of the event.

– T. Bennett

Information from College Insider contributed to this article. For more information, visit